“What in the @#$% are you talkin’ about?”

I’ve been hearing this question a lot recently. Some people (well just family and friends) think I’m certifiably crazy and I guess I cannot argue with that point. I read through some of this stuff and even I’m left shaking my head afterward. Most of what populates this blog comes to me as I write it out (explains the feverish quality of the writing), while standing outside staring at the moon, watching movies, listening to music or recently in my dreams.

I know little about physics or math (like I really had to say that), but a lot of this stuff is centered around those two disciplines. I come from an artistic background (aspiring playwright, screenwriter, yada yada) and I apply that sensibility to these matters. I kind of take an indirect approach which helps me to better understand these subjects. Really, not one sentence of what I write is new. This is just like one of the hip hop tracks mentioned in the previous post—a collection of disparate elements fused together to create something “seemingly” new. I spend my time in a figurative dingy old record store digging through crates looking for bits and pieces to bring together. But my work will never be done because every fraction of a fraction of a fraction of a second the store adds new titles. No worries. I ain’t going nowhere.

4 Responses to ““What in the @#$% are you talkin’ about?””


  1. 1 troy January 14, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Yeah …one can argue if ‘new’ even exist – that is, anything new is just a collection of old in the first place. I think one of the things Philip had over the others you mentioned (De La Soul was also pretty great at mixing things up) was that he was somewhat ‘legit’ because of his association with the modern 20th Cen. composition crowd. He also stuck to his guns in a way too, which was admirable for someone doing what he did back then. But you’re right, he really didn’t ‘do’ anything different.

    Sometimes it’s just who you know really …and timing, unfortunately.

  2. 2 Spaceman's Hairdo January 15, 2010 at 6:08 am

    Oh, I wasn’t knocking Mr. Glass in that post. I spent the better part of my early-twenties spinning him, Terry Riley, John Adams, Steve Reich, the Kronos Quartet, Arvo Part and…well, you get the point.

    I can’t believe I didn’t include anything by De La in my hip hop post. Any suggestions as to what cut I should throw in there?


  1. 1 The Art of Or: My Football Dream « Tricky Relativity Trackback on September 10, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Leave a Reply

