My Brand

03 tagged

I know I high-horse about ‘mainstream media mystification‘ all the time on here, but I get why we do this, I’m not immune myself. I’m well aware of the fact that the media is basically the PR team for my superficial ‘type’: Brown-Skinned Male of a Multi-Cultural Democratic Nation. (To parse that down to a popular brand: Black American Guy™) They are responsible for a reputation that precedes me around the globe. This brand is informing peoples of far flung lands about ‘what to expect’ from me WELL before I even set foot on them. That means they probably think I can’t get enough of big asses, sex-dancing to songs about sex-dancing, slam dunking and non homemade sweet potato pies. I SHOULD have an interest in this! A VESTED interest! Instead I’m cold-shouldering it in favor of championing other streams. The latter is all well-an’-good, but maybe I need to train some of my attention on reforming the big-timers… Or just hope that there are people around the world who are not concerned with living up to and avoiding their brand’s ‘positive’ and ‘negative’ expectations. People just naturally averse to ‘branded’ culture. Those I-go-wherever-my-fancy-flies types. Those Free Spirits™, those— Hey, what the fuck was that all about?!

0 Responses to “My Brand”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

