Ambam’s Burden

Ambam gorilla
0



PRM-01-MC0050-01P
What in the hell are you doing?


Ambam gorilla
Some unimaginable shit. Was actually hoping the rest of y’all would peep it and maybe do some unimaginable shit yourselves. I’ve been watching y’all; wondering why you’re so complacent, so stuck in your ways, why you ain’t ‘moving,’ ‘changing’; trying to become something ‘else,’ something ‘more.’ Thought if I did some outlier-type shit it would get y’all to—at the very least—’consider’ other ‘possibilities.’ I ain’t sayin’ you gotta do what I’m doin,’ I was just kinda hopin’ the boldness of my peculiar expression would inspire y’all to add a little peculiarity to your own lives.


PRM-01-MC0050-01P
Nigga, if you don’t shut up and go sit yo’ ass down somewhere.




Stuff evolves no matter what ‘we’ do, but we can shape the ‘nature’ of ‘our’ evolution based on things ‘we’ do. The nature of this ‘custom’ evolution hinges on the multi-tiered macro/micro relationship between the brilliant and the ignorant; on the macro level there are brilliant and ignorant individuals (the brilliant person creates the iPhone, the ignorant person builds and consumes it), on the other, micro level, there is the duality of brilliance and ignorance that resides within each one of us (“Yeah, I know a lot about crown-molding, but very little about the history of Fargo, North Dakota.”). The overlapping relationships of these ratios factor into the overall brilliance/ignorance ratio of the collective which influences the ‘direction‘ of our evolution.

To apply this to my boy Ambam…

He may be pissing off some of his fellow gorillas in a “Who this nigga think he is walkin’ an’ shit? Don’t he know gorillas DON’T do shit LIKE THAT?! That’s HUMAN shit!” kinda way, but there may also be some who peep his act and start rubbing their chins in a “I didn’t know this was what I NEEDED to see until he DID it.” kinda way.

Damn. That shit sounds kinda Ayn Rand-y.

And that is an association I begrudge. But why? I’m only cursorily aware of her work. Perhaps it’s because of the ‘flack’ it receives (mainly due to how much it is celebrated by conservative types), but yet my spirit ‘freely’ associates with shit like…

    “The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.”

    “A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others.”

    “I swear, by my life and my love of it, that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.”

Such an I-see-you-girl feeling makes me feel uncomfortable, I don’t want to be psychically associated with someone who is ‘culturally’ associated with people I don’t want to be ‘culturally’ associated with. Maybe I should go seek out some information about her personal foibles so that I can dismiss her, and subsequently her work. Yeah, that’s what I’ll do.

0 Responses to “Ambam’s Burden”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

