A View From Above

pia21030_main_2_north_polar_full-disk_a

There is something about this image (taken by NASA’s Juno satellite) of Jupiter’s north pole that I find a bit disconcerting. I’ve become accustomed to a particular image of the planet. You know the one, the shot with the alternating horizontal streaks of peach and white, offset by the gas giant’s most recognizable feature—that perpetually churning ‘red spot.’

Seeing my beloved planet from this angle just doesn’t feel ‘right.’ Maybe it’s because I’m looking ‘down’ on it, which seems to mitigate its superlative planetary prowess. Don’t get me wrong, I’m giddy as fuck about these new perspectives; I’m probably just a little overwhelmed. I kinda love this shit.

0 Responses to “A View From Above”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

